Friday, 31, March, 2023

Russia has allowed starting from March 5 the imports of vegetable products from nine countries, including Uzbekistan, Rosselkhoznadzor stated in a statement.

In particular, the Rosselkhoznadzor allowed import of:

  • tomatoes from Armenia and Azerbaijan;
  • tomatoes and peppers from Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Turkey, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan;
  • potatoes from Egypt, zucchini and eggplant from Turkey.

The import of vegetables is allowed from the entire territory of these countries, without any restrictions on any manufacturing enterprises.

According to the Rosselkhoznadzor, the decision was made based on the findings of analysis provided by the national entities for in charge of quarantine and plant protection of these countries, as well as on the measures taken to prevent violations of the phytosanitary requirements of the Russian Federation and the EAEU member countries.

Russia has banned the import of tomatoes and peppers from the Ferghana province from November 26, 2020. Since December 11, the ban has been extended to the Kashkadarya and Navoi provinces due to the detection of the brown wrinkle virus. On December 19, Rosselkhoznadzor partially lifted temporary restrictions on the import of tomatoes and peppers from the Fergana province, and from January 1, 2021, it allowed import from 34 enterprises of Uzbekistan.

Latest in Economy